City of Union, KY | Committees
page-template-default,page,page-id-21723,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,select-theme-ver-3.5.2,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.0.1,vc_responsive


Boone County Planning Commission

The Boone County Planning Commission is a 15-member board that oversees planning and zoning issues in Boone County. The membership of the board is made up by 6 appointees from both the county at large and Florence, 2 appointees from Walton, and 1 appointee from the City of Union. Currently, the city is represented on the commission by Matthew Apke who reports monthly at the meeting of the city commissioners.


Board of Adjustments

The Union Board of Adjustments is made up of 3 appointees: Terry Kidwell, Andy Rosen, and Pamela Sayers. The board meets periodically to make decisions on zoning variances and to issue conditional-use permits. Meetings are open to the public and publicized in the Union Recorder and via signage around town.


Code Enforcement Board

The Union Code Enforcement Board is made up of 3 appointees: Ken Heil, Elizabeth Barker, and Dennis Gordon. The board meets as needed to address and mediate citizen complaints in relation to the City Nuisance Code. Meetings are open to the public and publicized on the City Website and City Social Media Accounts.


Economic Development Committee

The purpose of the Economic Development Committee (EDC) is to advise the Union City Commission on economic development issues and to assist in the development of the Union Town Center. Committee members are City Commissioner/Chairman Jeremy Ramage, Matt Apke, Brent Gross, B. Stephen Harper, Denny Mathis, Jim Collett, Randy Barlow, City Administrator Matt Dowling and Communications Coordinator Melissa Hinkle. The Union EDC usually meets on the third Wednesday of each month at 6:00PM at the Union City Building.

View Meeting Minutes


Communications Committee

The Communications Committee was formed to assist the city in effectively communicating with the residents. Members are Chairman Patrick Romelli, Travis Schraffenberger, Noreen Morgan, Celeste Grimoldi, City Administrator Matt Dowling and Communications Coordinator Melissa Hinkle. Commissioner John Mefford serves as the liason from the City Commission.  The committee meets on the second Tuesday of each month at 6 p.m. at the Union City Building.
View Meeting Minutes


Public Works Committee

The Public Works Committee oversees the maintenance and improvement of city infrastructure. Members of this committee are City Administrator Matt Dowling, City Commissioner Eric Dulaney, and City Engineer Barry Burke, P.E.


Building Committee

The purpose of the Building Committee is to advise the City Commissioners on the use and maintenance of the Community Building located on Old Union Road. The members of this committee are City Admistrator Matt Dowling, City Commissioner Jeremy Ramage, and City Commissioner John Mefford.


Union Cares

This committee oversees the Union Caring and Sharing program, a charitable endeavor that supports not for profit groups in the Northern Kentucky area. This committee is chaired by Denny Mathis.



In March, 2010, the City of Union adopted unit HHT 1-32d, 1BCT, 101st Airborne Division as they were about to be deployed to Afghanistan.  This program is run through ASA (America Supporting Americans) which believes that a strong, supportive connection between young men and women of our armed forces and the civilian communities they are ready and willing to serve is crucial to morale. ASA has committed itself to building and strengthening this link and the citizens of this community are glad to do our part.